China, Food, Republic of Georgia, Social Customs, Travel

Gone Over to the Dark Side

An unexpected casualty of several years abroad is that my taste in coffee is getting worse. First step is to admit I have a problem, right? So. Deep breath. Hi, my name is Amy. I like instant coffee.

How did this nasty addiction develop? It started in Georgia. Though real coffee beans were available, my host family was firmly entrenched in the instant coffee camp. They drank a Brazilian instant coffee, called Café Pele, that once I got used to it I grew to like, even love.

I left Georgia with a gigantic Yuban-style can of Café Pele. At home in California, I explored the delights of how convenient making iced coffee is with instant coffee. I found that the French Roast that had been my mainstay through grad school suddenly tasted like mud. I tried to readjust, but it just wasn’t working. In desperation, I bought a bottle of Nescafe. I know, right? Nescafe. Seriously?! But it tasted good to me. Another step down a slippery slope. By the time I left America again I was on a half brewed, half instant coffee diet, having somewhat readjusted to “real” coffee.

I came to China last year with the end of my Café Pele. When it was finished, I went out and bought a ceramic one-cup coffee filter and some ground coffee. But it just wasn’t working. Maybe if I had a real coffee pot it would work. But by the time the water had finished dripping through my coffee was usually cold. And if I wanted a second cup? Do it all over again. And me and Nescafe were just getting along so…so well! I liked the taste. I liked the convenience. It was great. My ground coffee sat in the cupboard, sad and neglected.

This past summer was a repeat of the year before. I struggled to find a drip coffee that tasted good to me. I, coffee purist, even experimented with flavored coffee. Maybe a nice mild vanilla-flavored coffee would taste good? No, though it smelled good, it tasted like chemicals. I bought a small jar of Nescafe. Used it up. Bought a larger jar. Oh dear. This was serious.

On vacation with the family, my brother gasped in mock horror at the bottle of Nescafe I’d brought along. “You’ve gone to the dark side, eh?” I couldn’t really deny it. Maybe I was a double agent. Behind enemy lines, exploring the dark side of instant coffee culture. Or maybe I was actually a triple agent, professing reluctant use of instant coffee due to present circumstances when, in truth, my allegiance had changed. Stockholm syndrome? Maybe a little.

Some communal coffee drinking with my brother weaned me off a 100% instant diet. Coffee drinking is very social, you know. As with alcohol, it’s much nicer to drink coffee with other people. No one likes to drink alone.

In defense of instant coffee, you do realize that it’s popular the world over? I have no reason to be ashamed of instant coffee drinking. America is one of the few places that scorns instant coffee for mysterious reasons. Starbucks had released its Via instant coffee in Europe long before it attempted to market it in the States. Did you know? We are the lone holdouts. American instant coffee drinkers must sip in secret lest their preferences open them up to the ridicule of their friends and neighbors. Having their instant coffee shipped in plain unmarked boxes. It’s tough. Maybe someday there will be acceptance of instant coffee drinking in America.

I don’t think I’ll be giving up instant coffee anytime soon.

You’ll still love me, right?

Standard

4 thoughts on “Gone Over to the Dark Side

  1. Peter Van Gundy says:

    Yes, dear sister, you have committed a cardinal sin. However, if you recognize the authority of the papal, uh, I mean “Peet-al” governing leadership, you will soon be walking again within the sun-drenched and felicitous boundaries of acceptable coffee consumption.

    As a side note, many people have nothing to eat, so your instant coffee consumption will be overlooked at this time. Please do not make any further public posts regarding your recent coffee indiscretions.

    As our good lord said, “narrow is the way, and small is the gate that leads to eternal coffee happiness.”

    St. Peet’s-er 2:13

    Should you need to make confession, please contact me at your earliest convenience. Do not be dismayed, dear sister; your redemption is close at hand.

    Peter Van Gundy Owner Clearview LLC

    Um.. I mean pope of the coffee cartel 😉

    • You left me weak with laughter! Are you going to ex-caffinate me? Maybe you should get me in a coffee-recovery program by shipping me a big box of Peets. Then I maybe I will turn from my wicked ways!

  2. Hi, I love your ‘agent’ speak you triple agent!

    I love instant coffee. It’s simple, it’s fast, and easy to make – for someone on the go it’s a godsend! Being a person who actually never liked coffee, the jitters, etc… switching to instant coffee has done me wonders, probably due to the fact that instant coffee has less caffeine in general.

Leave a Reply

