Educational System, Family, Republic of Georgia, Village Life, Weather

Snow Day

It snowed like crazy yesterday. The result being that we woke up to about 4 feet of snow. Pretty fantastic for this California girl. Even babua grudgingly admitted that it was “pretty big snow”. Not sure I want to witness “really big snow”.

The fallout of this was that school was cancelled for the day. I was totally fine with that when I peeked out the gate. I live right next to the school and even for me it would be a knee/thigh deep trip. And there are teachers and students who live at least 30 minutes from the school. Nope, not gonna happen.

So we hung out in the kitchen. I went on a foray into the village to get cigarettes for babua Vakho. We built a tremendous snow bebia, complete with hat and scarf. Snowmen are called “tovli babua” in Georgian, “snow grandfather” but ours was definitely female. That is probably the first real snowman-building experience of my life. Good times.

Not sure what the rest of the day holds. Power was off all last night and this morning, then come on and went off again within a relatively short period of time. It’s a little after 3, so I am getting a little rumbly-in-the-tumbly.

Heard a horrible rumor that school being cancelled means that we have to make it up on Saturday?!? Whoa, whoa, whoa. Don’t they have provision for “acts of God” in the school schedule? Even the Collective Bargaining Agreement at my old job had that!

It all makes me think of Calvin, of Calvin and Hobbes fame. How ecstatic he would’ve been to have a snow day. In his honor, I’ll try to do the day right.

Standard

Leave a Reply

