Food, Republic of Georgia, Uncategorized, Village Life, Weather

Shameless Behavior

I cannot lie. I went to school today for the sole purpose of coffee and cookies in the teacher’s lounge. The colder weather has been settling in this past week and I have not been adjusting to the change well. I have broken into almost all of the warmest clothing I brought: the Capilene shirt and long-johns, the heavy wool socks. I’ve been sleeping in at least 2 layers of everything underneath my comforter and 2 blankets I purloined from the spare beds outside my room. If this is what it is like in October, how am I ever going to survive when there is actually snow on the ground?

I am seriously not trying to be dramatic, but a few nights this week, before I put new measures into place, I was having a hard time falling asleep because I was too cold. Nasty flashbacks of backpacking in Yosemite. Leadership Trek #2. You remember, right Jenn? The fallout of this is that I sleep restlessly all night and then tend to fall deeply asleep in the morning once it starts getting a little warmer. Twice this week I woke up 15 minutes before I needed to leave for school. That’s okay. I am a professional quick change artist, but it is always a nasty jolt to see the clock.

So today I slept deeply from about 7 to 9 and then woke up. It was just so cold once I was out from underneath my covers! The whole house is shaded from a big front porch on both levels, so there is never any sun to warm up the rooms. I looked longingly down the road at the school where the sun was streaming in. I had no reason to be at the school. No classes. But it was 11:15 and if I was at school before 12 I would most likely be served cookies and coffee in the teacher’s lounge. And that is one of the sunniest rooms in the school. So stay in the house and shiver or shamelessly go to the school for hot coffee and sunshine? There was no question. The coffee was hot and the sunshine was warm.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Shameless Behavior

  1. Natalie says:

    “…In the heavens He has pitched a tent for the sun, which is like a bridegroom coming forth from his pavilion, like a champion rejoicing to run his course. It rises at one end of the heaves and makes its circuit to the other; nothing is hidden from it’s heat.” Psalm 19:4-6 Thank you Lord for warming dear Amy with the sun. Please, be her warmth through the coming season. ~ Amen

  2. Katie says:

    Amy! I have been enjoying your blog so much! Thank you for sharing all your amazing experiences! Thanks for sharing the good and the hard stuff, too. Sorry to hear that it has gotten so cold already! You can do it! Keep layering! I am getting into the layering mode here in CO as well. It has not snowed yet, but it has been raining a lot. Any snow yet for you? Can you sleep with a hat on? That helps me when I am particularly cold.

    Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I miss you, and I am enjoying living in another country vicariously through you! Hope we can skype sometime too!

Leave a Reply

